NBN board revealed by Conroy

By on

Communications Minister Senator Stephen Conroy has announced the board members that will lead the government-built $43 billion national broadband network, with the new members having skills in finance, technology, legal and business.

The new board, to join the co-chairman Mike Quigley, who was also announced to be the chief executive of the new government-controlled company, will comprise of five members: former Freehills law firm CEO Peter Hay, former Telstra chief Doug Campbell, former McKinsey partner Siobhan McKenna, former Westpac head Diane Smith-Gander and former Wesfamers finance director Gene Tilbrook.

“These appointments move us to an important next stage in the implementation of this historic nation-building infrastructure project,” Conroy said in a statement. “Mr Quigley and the five new directors bring a strong set of skills necessary for a task of this scale and importance.”

Minister for Finance and Deregulation Lindsay Tanner added, “The NBN Co Board will help drive the rollout of the National Broadband Network and guide the development of company operations.”

The interim directors, comprised of government staff, are set to be replaced in the coming months.

Also announced was that McKinsey-KPMG has been appointed as the lead advisor for the NBN’s implementation study, providing advice on how the operations and governance of the NBN Corporation and to help how it should attract the private sector’s support.

That study is set to be completed in February 2010.